Press "Enter" to skip to content

Facebook BFF comment to check security is FAKE, don’t fall for it

BFF comment, which has been doing the rounds on Facebook since the last few days is a hoax. There is no such comment which would help check security of your Facebook account.

Users have been sharing the fake post that prompts Facebook users to type “BFF” in any comment field to check if their account has been hacked or still secure. The hoax says if the “BFF” turns green, your account is protected. If it does not appear in green, change your password immediately because it will be hacked or already hacked.

This is the exact message that you will or have seen on Facebook: “Mark Zuckerberg, CEO of Facebook, invented the word BFF to make sure your account is safe on Facebook, type BFF in a comment. If it appears green, your account is protected. If it does not appear in green, change your password immediately because it may be hacked by someone.”

The post that has been doing the rounds in the social networking site is a fake and doesn’t check the security level of your Facebook account. So, don’t fall for it. However, many users have started to post the “BFF” comment to check their account security.

One Facebook post by user Remee Dayao-Centeno, made on March 19, has been shared more than 13,000 times. Myth-busting site, Snopes, also said in an article on Thursday that the claim is false.

According to a report in IndiaTimes, the word “BFF” turned green for some people. What does that mean? It’s down the Facebook feature called Text Delight, which was introduced last year.

It automatically animates green and red hands giving a high five when you type BFF. It also animates when you click on it. Obviously, this does not mean that your Facebook account can be hacked or is secure. It’s just a fun way of engaging with Facebook, nothing else.

In an official statement given to Gadgets Now, Facebook has said, “A meme is currently making the rounds claiming that entering ‘BFF’ into the comments section will secure a person’s Facebook account. This is untrue. Entering ‘BFF’ will simply activate a Text Effect animation showing two hands coming together.”

Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg on March 21 admitted that the user data trust had been breached by Cambridge Analytica, a firm accused of unlawfully harvesting people’s data from platforms like Facebook to influence elections in different countries.

Comments are closed.

© Copyright 2020 The Manipur Post. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by eManipur!.