Press "Enter" to skip to content

12 MLAs of BJP-led Manipur govt hold office of profit: Gaikhangam

Former deputy chief minister and Congress leader Gaikhangam Gangmei alleged that the Bharatiya Janata Party-led government in Manipur was indulging in office of profit.

According to a report in DNA, Mr. Gaikhangam  alleges the BJP and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) of being in the same boat. He said that 12 MLAs in the state were guilty of office of profit, as they were appointed as Parliamentary Secretaries after the last Assembly election in May 2017 when the BJP came to power with a group of coalition partners.

Of the 12 MLAs, Mr. Gangmei said, eight MLAs are from the BJP, three from the NPF, and one was an independent MLA.

Assam MP Sushmita Dev made a reference of the Supreme Court order dated July 26, 2017 in the case of Bimalangshu Roy vs the state of Assam, which held that appointing elected representatives of the land as Parliamentary Secretaries violates the law.

“These appointments are of people without legislative competence and therefore any such person having held such position must be disqualified,” said Dev.

“This is a blatant violation of the law of the land. A law that applies to one state cannot be inapplicable in another,” said Gangmei.

Dev made a reference to former Congress President Sonia Gandhi’s resignation after the ‘office of profit’ controversy broke out. “The former president resigned and had fought again and won the mandate of the people again. AAPs MLAs, too, must step down on moral grounds,” said Dev.

Comments are closed.

© Copyright 2021 The Manipur Post. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by eManipur!.